Anthony has Lunch with Anthony

 

12650484_10205336316956623_624655487_n

Anthony 06= Anthony, year 2006

Anthony 16= Anthony, year 2016

Time travel is very complicated. It involves a lot of science and weather and math…it’s just all very boring and uninteresting. So, I’m just going to spare you all of those details and jump right into the meat of this lunch date. Having arrived back in the year 2006, I was looking forward to meeting up with myself from 10 years ago; it had been a long time, I was excited to catch up with him. I pulled my white Hyundai Santa Fe next to his white Nissan Pathfinder, at our consistently favorite place to eat…Jimmy Johns. I walked in. I ordered. I looked around for him. Finally, I saw him in the corner, texting away on his silver and blue Nokia brick phone. This was going to be fun.

Anthony 16– “Hey.” I said as I sit down.

Anthony 06– “Ah, legit! You made it ha. Nice button up shirt; you look all fancy.”

Anthony 16– “Thanks, we wear these a lot now. Nice beanie, but you know…it’s kind of warm in here. You can take that off if you want.”

Anthony 06– “Nah, I’m good. We look fresh in beanies!”

Anthony 16– “Right, I forgot. We wore beanies a lot…even in the summertime.” I said as I rolled up the sleeves on my shirt, preparing to eat.

Anthony 06-“Whoa! We get tattoos? That’s legit! Let me check these out.” He examines my arms. “That’s sweet ha. I think I want to get some piercings. I think that would be so cool!”

Anthony 16– “Yeah, you should meet up with 2009 or 2010 Anthony sometime. We pull them off pretty well.”

Anthony 06– “Nice! So, what’s 10 years into the future like? Is it crazy?!”

Anthony 16– With a mouth full of sandwich and BBQ chips, I proceed to tell my younger self about the years to come. “Well, it’s not too crazy I guess. We’re finally getting a movie with both Batman and Superman in the same film. So that’s pretty cool. Everyone gets offended pretty easy in the future, so just gear up for that. Oh! And you know that girl from that Hannah Montana show that’s getting ready to come out? Yeah…things get really really weird with her.”

Anthony 06– “Well, speaking of girls…are we married in 10 years?”

Anthony 16– “Yup. We sure are.”

Anthony 06- “To who?? I’m pretty sure I know. I’ve been praying about someone.”

Anthony 16– “Well, I’m pretty sure you don’t know. And you know I can’t tell you that. I can’t do anything to alter the time stream because…well I know you’ve heard this before 100 times in movies because I’ve seen all the movies you have!”

Anthony 06– “Just tell me! Is it the girl from Keva Juice?”

Anthony 16– “Um no. It’s not Keva Juice girl. You’ll know who she is because she’s the most beautiful woman you will ever meet. And I can say that as a fact.” I said with a smile.

Anthony 06- “Ahhhh yeah! Ok, do we have any kids? And where do we live?”

Anthony 16– “Yes we do! They’re awesome! (His face reacted to the fact that I said, they’re). And trust me…you would have no idea where this town is even if I told you what its name is.”

Anthony 06– “Where do we work? Like, what do we do for money ha?”

Anthony 16-” Um, well what do you think we do?”

Anthony 06– “I think we ended up writing for tv shows! Dude! Did they end up making our show, Style K: The hoverboard-riding teen action hero??”

Anthony 16– “Well…we definitely write a lot at our job.” I then pulled out my phone to check the time.

Anthony 06– “Whoa. What is that thing? A new Game Boy?”

Anthony 16– “No, it’s called an iPhone. You’ll probably start hearing about these things next year. We still call them (phones) for some reason, but they’re more like little computers in your pocket.”

Anthony 06– “Ah legit!” He said, grabbing my phone and successfully entering the password.

Anthony 16– “What are you doing?”

Anthony 06– “You said this is like a computer right? Well, I need to check my Myspace! I just updated my page layout and I gotta see if I got some profile views.” He looked up for a second and must have noticed the almost disgusted look on my face. “What? Don’t you guys still have Myspace? Oh! Who are your top friends now? Does Taylor Swift still make the cut?”

Anthony 16– “She wouldn’t. And…umm well most of your friends are married now and most of them have kids. So I guess you could say we don’t really have much time for Myspace anymore.”

Anthony 06– “Lame!”

We continued on with our time together. We talked a lot about the future of LA Lakers, our ever growing love for and relationship with God, why Anthony 06’s frustrations with Blockbuster Video would soon disappear forever, what direction the last few seasons of Scrubs take while I encouraged him to check out a sophomore show called The Office, and we wrapped up by discussing his current transition of Nikes shoes to Vans.

Anthony 06– “Ugh. I’m so hungry ha.” He finally said.

Anthony 16– “Wait, you haven’t eaten yet? I just assumed you ate before I got here.”

Anthony 06– “No I haven’t. Taco Time hasn’t given us our paychecks yet. You should use some of that…what ever you do…money to get me some food! Feed yourself!”

Anthony 16– I forgot how much of a mooch I was. “Fine,” I said getting up from the table.

Anthony 06– “Wait! Before you get in line, I have to ask one more question.”

Anthony 16– “What is it?” I asked with curiosity.

Anthony 06– “Umm…do we still think Pokemon is cool?”

Anthony 16– I looked around to see if anyone was listening. When I saw that the coast was clear…I replied with a whisper “secretly, yes.”

 

 

 

Leave a comment